30min Arrival Time
24-Hour Towing
Locally Owned
Skilled Techs

Texas Towing Laws

If you’re a resident of Texas and drive a car, you might want to know/brush up on the towing laws that apply to everyone in the city—just always take the necessary precautions and be careful about where you park your car!

places where your car can and will be towed?

If your car has been left in the same place that’s public property for more than 2 days (that’s 48 hours), it will be towed. There are also instances in which your car can be towed when it’s in public or private parking lots, parking garages and apartment complexes— meaning, it’s completely legal for your car to be towed in these places.

If you’re car is towed when it’s parked in the parking lot of your apartment building, it’s probably because of one of these reasons:

  • Blocking a walkway
  • Getting in the way of other cars
  • Blocking access to the dumpsters
  • Parked in a restricted area (like on parking spots reserved for employees)
  • Parked in a spot where there’s a visible “Tow Away Zone” sign
  • If your vehicle is a semitrailer, trailer, or truck-tractor, unless if you’re allowed (according to apartment rules) to park there
  • If your car has leaks or is leaking fluid that’s hazardous or is viewed as a threat to people in the immediate area

Lastly, if you’ve been arrested by the police, it’s highly likely that your car will be impounded.

 How to know if an area in a public space can be used as a parking spot

 Look around for signs attached on poles or posted on walls that say “Unauthorized Vehicles Will Be Towed At Owner Or Operator’s Expense”—if you see one, then it’s definitely a no-go

 How much tow charges cost

 Tow charges depend on the weight of your car. For Texas, the highest amount you can be charged (if the vehicle is a car) is $250. However, this is not inclusive of the fees charged by the storage facility.

When your car is towed illegally

 If your car has been towed illegally (e.g. if the towing company is unlicensed, or their license has been invalidated or expired), you can ask for a tow hearing within 14 days of your car being towed. It’s possible that you might not have to pay for tow fees in this case.